Uncategorized

Ahead of Schedule

Each year, I take the plunge and commit myself to a Reading Challenge courtesy of goodreads.com (if you have not made use of this site, sign up now! I’ll wait.)  It is not a complicated or overly involved challenge.  You simply set the number of books you wish to read that year and – voila! – GoodReads keeps track for you.  Great deal, right?

Last year I set my goal at 70 books and ended up somewhere around 74.  So this year I decided to go BIGGER and set my number at 85.  Whoa!  Better stop fooling around on this blog and start reading, right?

Well, thanks to the Walking Dead graphic novels (<1 hour per book) I am now sitting at a very comfortable 15 books so far this year.  Five books ahead of schedule!  I feel like I cheated a little bit.  Had I known those books were going to hook me, I would have set my number A LOT higher.  Live and learn.

I am advocating a reading challenge for anyone who is truly committed to expanding their tastes, reading more, or just likes to compete with themselves.  There are so many fantastic challenges to choose from that it can be tough to know where to start!  I always go with Old Faithfuls (GoodReads reading challenge and BookRiot’s Read Harder Challenge).  Here is a list of some others:

Popsugar 2017 Reading Challenge (Looks amazing! I may have to dig into this list too!)

Better World Books Reading Challenge

The Modern Mrs. Darcy Reading Challenge (challenge lists based on what you want to change about your reading life! do you want to read for fun? grow personally? put the oomph back in your reading life?  Just choose your own reading adventure and off you go!  Genius!)

What is your go-to reading challenge?  Share your thoughts in the Comments section.

Leave a Reply

