Uncategorized

CANADA READS STARTS TODAY!!!

What is the one book that Canada needs right now??  This is the question being debated this week during the Canada READS broadcasts.  I couldn’t be more excited!  My husband and I joke that this is like my Oscars and I already have my favourites picked.  I am READY!

The broadcast will air on CBC, so check your local listings for times.  Here is the shortlist of nominees being debated.

41bb2ns9xdl-_sx339_bo1204203200_

Nostalgia by M.G. Vassanji defended by Canadian Armed Forces veteren Jody Mitic

Immortality is no longer a problem when people can renew their bodies.  However, they must also erase all of their past memories and have a fiction of their choice implanted into their consciousness.  This results in memory leaks where the old life begins to invade the new, which is what Dr. Frank Sina specializes in.

I have bought this book, but haven’t gotten around to reading it yet.  It looks fantastic!

1552453057

Fifteen Dogs by Andre Alexis defended by Humble the Poet

When fifteen dogs are given human consciousness, we see human-like thought processes and rivalries from a very unique perspective.

Well-written and original, we read this book in my book club last year and I highly recommend it!

20447745

Company Town by Madeline Ashby defended by Tamra Taylor (of the series Bones)

In a world where most humans have specialized modifications made to their bodies, Go Jung-hwa is all natural.  Since she cannot be hacked and corrupted, she is chosen to be the bodyguard of a very special client.  When her friend is brutally murdered, she uses her new-found high clearance to try and bring the killer to justice.

Madeline Ashby has created a very interesting world in this book.  However, the story itself just isn’t grabbing me and I’m having a tough time finding the motivation to finish it.  Perhaps its just not the right time for me or the book isn’t my cup of tea.

41jiznythyl-_sx329_bo1204203200_

The Right to Be Cold: One Woman’s Story of Protecting Her Culture, The Arctic, and the Planet by Sheila Watt-Cloutier defended by Chantel Kreviazuk

A very important book about protecting the northern environment and Inuit culture.

I have not been able to get my hands on this book yet, but I have heard wonderful things about it.  I will definitely be seeking it out very soon!

thebreak

The Break by Kathrena Vermette defended by comedian Candy Palmater

Told from the perspective of various Metis women and one Metis police officer in Manitoba, this book focuses on a violent crime, but also issues facing Metis people today.  The connections between the narrators are explored and their voices ring strong and true.

This is a remarkable book.  It is my favourite to win in this competition.  Highly recommended!

Check it out!  I’ve already hit “Record Series” on my DVR and I cannot wait!  What do you think is the book that Canada needs to read right now???

 

Leave a Reply

